Home > Technology, The Plus Project > The Plus Project: Paulo Furtado

The Plus Project: Paulo Furtado

Project plus logo
I’ve selected Paulo Furtado for today’s Plus Project. Paulo is a professor of translation studies and communication at Instituto Superior de Línguas e Administração. He lives in Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal, with his wife Sofia, and they are expecting their first child (so be sure to congratulate him). He is a man obsessed with knowledge in all forms, as he likes robotics, science, astronomy and just about any other wonderful geekery at which you can shake a stick. Paulo has an insane amount of content aggregated on Paper.li, and he posts some really interesting stuff on Posterous. He’s is referred to as a Renaissance man by his peers, due to his astounding variety of interests. Paulo posts some lovely pictures on Picasa, and he tweets @PauloFurtado where he discusses everything from human history, alternative energy, and quantum computing. You can connect with Paulo on LinkedIn, or you could add him as a friend on Facebook. Paulo is a totally awesome guy, and I love his passion for learning and sharing information. He really is a Renaissance man, and I think he would be an inspiration to have in your circles.

Paulo Furtado on Google+

  1. paulofurtado
    August 16, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Hey Mike, thanks again for picking me! I did not expect it at all! That made my day! 🙂 May I just correct you on something: “father-to-be” is actually wishful thinking at the moment. A child is indeed in the plans for the near future (next year), but not yet on the way. Will keep you posted! 🙂

    • Mike Searle
      August 16, 2011 at 11:29 am

      It was my pleasure, Paulo! I’m glad I could make your day. That’s the whole point of this project; to try to put a smile on at least one person’s face every day. You have such a wide variety variety of interests, and in so many different areas. I think it’s great that you stay curious and engaged with this incredible world of ours.

      Sorry about the mistake on fatherhood. I try to do as much research as I can, but sometimes I still get things wrong. On a related note, I recently became a first time father myself, and I can tell you it is a fantastic experience. It’s definitely a challenge, but I love every minute of it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment